Keywords: pnr status, pnr, check pnr status, live pnr status, irctc pnr status, irctc pnr, check pnr, pnr status online

What is PNR?

PNR stands for Passenger Name Record. It is a 10-digit number that provides information regarding the details of travel printed on the ticket for an Indian Railways train. This number is generated whenever you book one train ticket at a ticket counter or through the ICRTC (Indian Railway Catering and Tourism Corporation) website. The Centre of Railway Information Systems (CRIS) stores this number after booking your ticket. With a group booking of six passengers, there will be one PNR number as well. A PNR number is only valid until the journey ends and after that, the CRIS deletes the number after 9 months. If you want to check the PNR status online on your phone, Goibibo conveniently provides you the exact information about your travel details on an Indian Railways train.

What is a PNR Status?

A PNR status would inform you about the following:

What is included in a PNR number?

A PNR number on a train ticket can be divided into two parts and they are:

Where is the PNR number printed on a ticket?

If you are buying a ticket from a railway station, the PNR number is present on the top left hand corner of the ticket. If you have bought an e-ticket from the IRCTC website or booked from an online travel website, the PNR is present in an individual section on the top.

How to Check PNR Status?

Goibibo makes it easy for you to check your PNR status wherever you are. To know the IRCTC PNR status, follow the simple steps mentioned below:

You can also check for the PNR status through the Goibibo app on your smartphone. If you do not have it, download the app from Google Play Store if you have an Android smartphone. You can also download this app from the App Store if you have an iPhone or Microsoft Store if you have a Windows smartphone. Once you enter the Goibibo app on your phone, you can see the ‘Trains’ option on the top. Tap on it and you will be redirected to the page with the options, Book Train, PNR Status and Train Status. Tap on the PNR Status option and enter the PNR number. After that, tap on the Check PNR Status option. This will let you know about the live PNR Status.

How to recognise the details of an IRCTC PNR Status?

As the PNR status comprises the travel details in abbreviations, it is essential to know what they stand for. Below mentioned is the list of abbreviations and their meanings defining the live PNR status of your ticket: